• Fort Couch Middle School Science Bowl Team Wins First Place!

    Congratulations to all students who participated in the US Department of Energy Science Bowls. USC was represented well, with two teams from the High School and two teams from Fort Couch.
    The high school competition was held on Saturday, February 20, with a total of 59 teams competing. The middle school competition was held on Saturday, February 27, with 34 teams competing.
    High school team members were Zach Christiansen, Sahil Doshi, Jack Jenny, Wyatt Keating, Spencer Miller, Michael Nastac, Abbie Wagner, and Sam Ding.
    Fort Couch team members were Christian Chiu, Jason Choi, Nick Kalra, Basir Khan, Rohan Mishra, Jack Myers, Aleksa Rodic, Ryan Sarkett, Chand Vadalia, and Braden Yates.
    The Fort Couch team of Jason Choi, Nick Kalra, Rohan Mishra, Ryan Sarkett, and Braden Yates are commended for achieving first place in their division. The team will be continuing on to the Finals at the National Energy and Technology Labs on Wednesday, March 9, to determine the one team that will continue on to the national competition in Washington, D.C.
    The Department of Energy (DOE) created the National Science Bowl in 1991 to encourage students to excelfcsciencebowlMar2016 in mathematics and science and to pursue careers in these fields. More than 250,000 students have participated in the National Science Bowl® throughout its 25-year history, and it is one of the nation’s largest science competitions.
    Middle School teams face-off in a fast-paced question-and-answer format, being tested on a range of science disciplines including Physical Science, General Science, Earth & Space, Life Science, Energy, and Math.

    Winning Fort Couch student scientists are (left to right) Nick Kalra, Ryan Sarkett, Braden Yates, Rohan Mishra, and Jason Choi.