Upper St. Clair School District

Customizing Learning, Nurturing Potential ... Delivering Excellence

2016 National Merit Scholarship Awardees Named

Fourteen Upper St. Clair High School students have been designated as Semifinalists and twenty-one have been named as Commended Students in the 2016 National Merit Scholarship Program conducted by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC). NMsemi-finalists
USC students designated as 2016 Semifinalists are Christopher Adamo, Gaurav Bhushan, Zian Chen, Jacob Heilman, Emily Hobart, Hunter Lantzman, Sarina Mak, Yein Park, Joseph Paul, Akshay Prasadan, Mohammad Rahman, Hannah Tyger, Steven Wagner, and Ryan Whyte.
The Commended Students from Upper St. Clair High School include Hannah Cafaro, Zachary Christiansen, Charles Hendrix, Abdul Khan, Meghan Matheny, Liam McClelland, John Miller, Amanda Mittelman, Thomas Mologne, Michael Nastac, Geet Punjabi, Pedro Quiroga, Ajinkya Rai, Cara Ravasio, Mariya Savinov, Vidhi Shah, John Shea, Bennett Sneath, Rachel VanRyzin, Hannah Wilding, and Braedon Wong.
Approximately 1.5 million juniors from more than 22,000 high schools entered the 2016 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2014 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), an examination measuring critical reading, mathematics, and writing achievement that serves as an initial screen. Approximately 16,000 advance to become Semifinalists and about 34,000 are Commended.
Congratulations to these students on this outstanding academic accomplishment.

National Merit Semi-Finalists left to right are:
Yein Christina Park, Gaurav Bhushan, Hunter Lantzman, Jacob Heilman, Sarina Mak, Zian Chen, Steven Wagner, Chris Adamo, Emily Hobart, and Akshay Prasadan. (Not pictured: Joseph Paul, Mohammad Rahman, Hannah Tyger, and Ryan Whyte) 
National Merit Commended Students from bottom to top, left to right, are:
Hannah Cafaro, Cara Ravasio, Amanda Mittelman; MNCommended
Daniel Quiroga, Bennett Sneath, Geet Punjabi;
Mariya Savinov, Meghan Matheny, Hannah Wilding;
Chase Miller, Abdul Khan, Zach Christiansen;
Charles Hendrix, Jack Shea, Vidhi Shah, Rachel VanRyzin;
Liam McClelland, Michael Nastac, Thomas Mologne, Braedon Wong.