• U.S. Presidential Scholar candidates

    Feb. 7, 2022

    Four named U.S. Presidential Scholar candidates

    Four Upper St. Clair High School seniors were recently named candidates in the 2022 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. Milan S. Giroux, Alex J. LeKachman, Sambhav Saggi and Daniel J. Wang were identified for their outstanding performance on the SAT or ACT exam.

    In addition to being selected as U.S. Presidential Scholar candidates, all four students have previously been recognized for their academic achievements. Milan, Alex and Daniel were named National Merit Semifinalists and Sambhav was named a Commended Student by the College Board last fall. In September, Daniel, Milan and Sambhav were named AP Scholars. Alex, Sambhav and Daniel were inducted into the Upper St. Clair High School chapter of the National Honor Society in May 2021.

    The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize the accomplishments of some of the nation’s most distinguished graduating seniors.

    Application for the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program is by invitation only. To be considered further, candidates must submit candidacy materials, including essays, self-assessments, secondary school reports, and transcripts. Candidates are evaluated on their academic achievement, personal characteristics, leadership and service activities, and an analysis of their essay.

    In March, approximately 600 semifinalists will be named by an independent, national committee of educators. Up to 161 U.S. Presidential Scholars will be announced in April and recognized in June at a ceremony sponsored by the White House. To commemorate their achievement, the Scholars are awarded the Presidential Scholars Medallion.

    Since 1964, this unique federal program has honored almost 8,000 U.S. Presidential Scholars, who have demonstrated scholarship, leadership, artistic excellence and selfless service to others. For more information about the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program: