• May 26, 2021

    USCHS earns All-Around Award for anti-bias programming 

    No Place for Hate AwardUpper St. Clair High School was recently honored with the All-Around Award from the Anti-Defamation League (ADL). The award was announced during the ADL’s Spread the Light event on May 20, 2021.

    The event recognized 50 schools throughout Ohio, West Virginia and western Pennsylvania that earned the 2020-21 No Place for Hate designation – including all six Upper St. Clair schools. Upper St. Clair High School is one of just four schools to earn a special award.

    In particular, two of the high school’s activities – “Combating Bullying & Microaggressions” and “The Black Experience: Who Am I?” – drew praise from ADL officials.

    “Both activities engaged student leaders in unique and significant ways including addressing anti-Black racism with the creation of an anonymous reporting form by the school’s No Place for Hate Committee,” Dr. Daniel Jacobson Lopez, chair of diversity and inclusion for the University of Pittsburgh Postdoctoral Association and ADL facilitator, said. “These efforts will better address and mitigate incidents of bullying and build collaboration with various student organizations to examine implicit and explicit bias that still exists in today’s society. These incredible efforts will help make the school community safer for all.”

    The high school’s No Place for Hate Committee is led by Assistant Principal Dan Zelenski with student leadership from juniors Jacob Bernstein, Ashley Eichberg and Eva Rankin.

    “Because of our students’ dedication, commitment and creativity, we have been able to plan and implement meaning programming throughout the school year,” he said. “I am truly proud of the work we have accomplished but I’m even more proud of our student leaders. Their work has led to thoughtful discussions, increased awareness and proactive actions to combat hate and make our school an even more inclusive place.”

    In addition to a certificate, each of the four award-winning schools will receive $125 worth of age-appropriate books that focus on diversity and inclusion for their library. Other award recipients include:

    • Student Leadership Award: Franklin Elementary School, North Allegheny School District
    • Confronting Bias Award: White Sulphur Springs Elementary School, Greenbrier County Schools (W.Va.)
    • Engagement Award: Joseph & Florence Mandel Jewish Day School (Ohio)

    Related links: