• May 14, 2021

    Spread the Light

    ADL designates all USC schools No Place for Hate

    No Place for HateAll six Upper St. Clair schools have earned the Anti-Defamation League’s 2020-2021 No Place for Hate designation. They are among the 50 schools throughout Ohio, West Virginia and western Pennsylvania that will be recognized during the ADL’s virtual celebration, Spread the Light, on Thursday, May 20, 2021.

    The Spread the Light ceremony will be live streamed on ADL Cleveland’s YouTube channel at 4 p.m. on Thursday. Registration is required. To view the list of schools receiving the No Place for Hate designation, click here.

    “We are incredibly proud of the schools achieving the No Place for Hate designation for the 2020-2021 school year,” said Alana Bandos, education director for ADL Cleveland, which serves Ohio, West Virginia, Kentucky, and Western Pennsylvania. “Not only did each school work hard to come up with original, impactful programming, but many also had to adapt to the challenges of COVID-19. Our schools rose to the occasion. Many schools developed creative virtual activities to engage their students in anti-bias programming, and we are delighted to designate each school as No Place for Hate.”

    Implemented within the Upper St. Clair School District beginning in the fall of 2019, No Place for Hate helps incorporate anti-bias and bullying prevention resources into the district’s existing programs in order to have one consistent message of inclusivity.

    “During a time when we are seeing an increase in anti-Asian bias, antisemitism, and extremism, we are pleased to honor the students, family members, and faculty members who have shown commitment to fighting hate,” said James Pasch, ADL Cleveland regional director. “In 2020, antisemitic incidents in this region surged; we saw a 114% increase over last year. That statistic is one example of why our No Place for Hate program is vital. These students are our future leaders, and it is our privilege to recognize them and their schools for taking a stand to combat hate and bigotry.”

    To earn the No Place for Hate designation, schools must establish a student-led committee of teachers, students, and parents; create an opportunity for students to take the No Place for Hate Pledge; and develop and implement student-led, school-wide activities throughout the year that empower students, faculty, administration, and family members to take a stand against bias and bullying by incorporating new and existing programs under one powerful message.

    This is the second year ADL has conducted the Spread the Light celebration virtually. Last year, ADL streamed the event via Facebook Live and nearly 1,500 people viewed the event. This year, No Place for Hate impacted over 40,000 K-12 students in Ohio, Western Pennsylvania, and West Virginia.

    Last year Boyce and Fort Couch middle schools were among four schools recognized with special awards during the Anti-Defamation League’s 2019-20 Spread the Light Event. Boyce and Fort Couch both earned Equity Awards for their efforts in addressing bias and promoting understanding.

    Register to watch the virtual 2020-21 Spread the Light event live

    Download the event flyer