• June 19, 2020

    Boyce & Fort Couch earn special No Place for Hate awards

    Boyce - Equity Award Upper St. Clair’s two middle schools were among four schools recognized with special awards during the Anti-Defamation League’s 2019-20 Spread the Light Event on Thursday, May 28, 2020. The event, which honored 33 school throughout Ohio and western Pennsylvania that earned the No Place for Hate designation - including all six Upper St. Clair schools, was streamed live on Facebook and can be watched on the organization’s YouTube Channel

    “Although each of the 33 schools in our region worked hard to make their schools No Place for Hate, four schools stood apart for their creativity, student leadership and their commitment to equity and challenging bias,” Yelena Boxer, regional board chair of the Anti-Defamation League, said.

    Boyce Middle School and Fort Couch Middle School were each awarded Equity Awards.

    “We are so proud to honor these four schools with special awards and a prize,” Ms. Boxer said. “Each of the schools will receive a set of books specific to their age group, valued at $125, to keep in their libraries. The books capture the beauty of celebrating differences and standing up to bullying and bias.”

    Fort Couch - Equity Award Fort Couch Middle School, serving students in grades seven and eight, was recognized for its “commitment to addressing bias during a crisis through the implementation of the Coronavirus and Scapegoating No Place for Hate activity on the very last day of in-person class to help challenge the anti-Asian bias that has increased across the country.”

    Boyce Middle School, comprised of students in grades five and six, earned its award for implementing the Butterfly Project No Place for Hate activity that “engaged students in creating a living art memorial dedicated to the 1.5 million children victims of the Holocaust. Their butterfly garden will promote beauty and understanding of difference.” 

    Other awardees include:

    • Creativity Award: Roxboro Elementary School, Cleveland Heights, Ohio
    • Student Leadership Award: Metro Early College High School, Columbus, Ohio


    Related articles: