• May 20, 2020

    Awards Night honors nearly 100 high school students

    USCHS crest Nearly 100 Upper St. Clair High School students were recently recognized with honors, awards and scholarships during the school’s annual Awards Night. Due to the extended school closure caused by COVID-19, the event was held virtually on Tuesday, May 19, 2020.

    Watch the video: uscsd.org/awardsnight

    “I’m so proud of our student awardees and all that they’ve accomplished,” Dr. Timothy Wagner, principal, said. “So much effort and energy went into your receiving these awards. Some were being thought about and bestowed upon you and you didn’t even realize. Others of you took a lot of time to apply and were competitive and successful applicants from among many of your peers. For all of these reasons, I couldn’t be more excited for you to be celebrating this evening.”

    In addition to celebrating the achievements of students, Dr. Wagner shared his appreciation for the many community partners that support the school’s students year after year.

    "What's also notable is how our community partners come together to offer these recognitions each year. To live in a community that pauses to celebrate student achievement, in academics, arts and athletics, is itself something worthy of recognition,” Dr. Wagner said. “The entire faculty and staff of Upper St. Clair High School extends our best wishes to these students and their families, now and in the future."

    The following students were recognized: 

    Air Force ROTC: Paige Stevenson

    BASH (Black Association of the South Hills): Rebekah Chikuni

    Carson Scholar: Morgan Meddings

    DAR Good Citizen Award: Kathleen McCurrie

    Ellie Levine Memorial Award: Eri Hayakawa

    John Small Spirit of Community Award: Juliana Tarcson

    Joseph F. Argiro Science Award: Carly Abraham

    Joseph L. Moscov Memorial Award: Alex Gillespie, Lucas Gillespie & Trinity Stillwell

    Outstanding Senior Athletes: Emily O'Malley & R.J. White

    Patrick O'Brien Memorial Scholarship: Haley Beardsley

    Paul Harris Award - USC-Bethel Park Evening Rotary Club: Alexander Happ

    Paul Wildenhain Memorial Scholarship: Alexander Shaw

    Perfect Attendance: Jason Choi, Mark Krolczyk, Claire Chen, Demitra Kucherawy, Kathleen McCurrie & Landon Rauch

    Pride of the Panthers Award: Aidan Gordley

    SAGE Scholarship: Sanjita Sigdel

    Service Above Self USC – Bethel Park, Breakfast Rotary: Gabriella Spina

    Service Above Self USC – Bethel Park, Evening Rotary Club: Logan Tobias

    Sharon Popp Memorial Award: Jacqueline Kobeski

    South Hills Area School Districts Assn. (SHASDA): Gabrielle McNemar & Trinity Stillwell

    Society of Women Engineers Awards: Aditri Thakur, sophomore; Claudia Ng, junior; Paige Stevenson, senior

    Student of the Year Awards: Jocelyn Rullo, freshman; RJ Shontz, sophomore; Brendan Crowley, junior; Jacob Conte, senior

    Superintendent Academic Achievement Award: Alexandra Wunderlich, Alexis Wehrle, Allison Kappert, Benjamin Nelson, Cal Sollie, Carly Abraham, Claire Chen, Daniel O'Brien, Ella Gans, Ellie Tetrick, Emma Mertz, Emmeline Wetzel, Eri Hayakawa, Jamison Stout, Jason Choi, Jordan Holleran, Julia Brubach, Kathleen McCurrie, Kiana Izadbakhsh, Paige Roeschenthaler, Samuel Dvorin, Sara Steve, Tyler Berger & Vivian Li

    T.J. White Scholarship: Sara Steve

    U.S. Marine Corp Awards

    • Distinguished Male and Female Athlete: Sara Steve & Herb Gordon
    • Scholastic Excellence: Jamison Stout
    • Semper Fildelis Award for Musical Excellence: Harrison Burgess

    USC Education Association Scholarship: Amanda Weinheimer

    USC ESPA/PSEA Transportation Scholarship: Allison Neas & Harrison Burgesss

    USCHS Counseling Humanitarian Award: Aiden Gordley, Cal Sollie, Ellie Tetrick, Gavin Genter, Jamison Stout, Karlie Daschbach, Katherine Hobart, Kelsey Reimer, Lydia McGlinn & Paige Roeschenthaler

    William A. Pope Scholarship: Jacob Manko

    University Book Awards

    • Brandeis University – Antara Cleetus
    • Brown University – Reshma Gudla
    • Chatham University, Rachel Carson Healthy Planet – Gabby Brubach
    • George Washington University – Andrew Levy
    • Harvard University – Sophia Shi
    • Johns Hopkins University – Ryan Sarkett
    • Princeton University – Christian Chiu
    • Rensselaer Medal: Harrison Chui
    • RIT Computing Medal & Scholarship Award: Alex Carlson & Sophia Shi
    • RIT Innovation & Creativity Award: Ben Bacdayan & Kara Lagoy
    • Saint Michael's College – Atharva Barve
    • Tulane University – Samantha Seewald
    • University of Pennsylvania – Bryce Keating
    • University of Virginia, Jefferson – Claudia Ng
    • William & Mary Leadership Award: Constantine Tripodes
    • Yale University – Gabriella Brubach