• Sept. 28, 2018

    16 seniors earn National Merit Commended status

    National Merit Commended Students Sixteen Upper St. Clair High School seniors were recently recognized as Commended Students in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program.

    Brooke Christiansen, Nicholas Devlin, Miles Friedman, Mattigan J. Fultineer, Arushi Khaitan, Jacqueline R. LeKachman, Mallika Matharu, Caroline M. McDonough, Anh-Duy Nguyen, Ritik Parmar, Neha K. Patel, Hridhay S. Reddy, Vikram Reddy, Tushar K. Roy, Lauren Wholey and Aochen Zhang scored in the top three percent of more than 1.6 million students who completed the 2017 Preliminary SAT, the National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

    “The young men and women being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” commented a spokesperson for the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”

    These 16 Upper St. Clair seniors join about 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation who are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise.

    Earlier this month the National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced the program’s Semifinalists, which included four Upper St. Clair seniors. In total, 20 Upper St. Clair students earned recognition as a Semifinalist or Commended Student.

    “These 20 students have distinguished themselves as some of our nation’s most promising high school students,” Dr. Louis Angelo, Upper St. Clair High School principal, said. “We are proud of their academic accomplishments and look forward to seeing what the future holds for each of them.”

    For more information regarding the National Merit Scholarship Program, visit: www.nationalmerit.org.