• Aug. 31, 2018

    Four USC staff members honored for 25 years of service

    25 years of service Before school bells ring for students, the teachers, staff and administrators come together to celebrate the start of the new school year. Upper St. Clair School District’s Opening Day was held on Tuesday, Aug. 21, 2018.

    Dr. John Rozzo, superintendent of schools, reinforced the important role that staff members play in making Upper St. Clair a special place to live and learn. Fittingly, he had the opportunity to honor four staff members for their 25 years of service to the district. Each received a 25-year pin in recognition of the silver anniversary. 

    Honorees include:

    • Kristin Cilli – Boyce Middle School Language Arts Teacher: In 2014, she received the Champions of Change Award from the Allegheny Intermediate Unit and the Center for Creativity.
    • Elizabeth Hess – High School Physical Education Department Chairperson and Physical Education Teacher: In addition to her roles as teacher and department chair, she has served as the girls’ assistant track coach, winter track coach, cross country coach and as the F.R.I.E.N.D.S. event leader.
    • Shawn Morton – High School Physical Education Teacher: In addition to teaching, he has served as the intramural coordinator and the sports conditioning assistant coordinator as well as junior varsity softball coach and assistant coach for winter track, softball, track and football.
    • Karen Powers – Maintenance Secretary: Throughout her time at Upper St. Clair, she has served as a secretary in central office, the bus garage and the maintenance department. 

    Each year the district welcomes its new and recent additions to the Upper St. Clair family. The following new staff members were introduced on Opening Day:


    • Brett Bernardo, Director of Facilities (Aramark)
    • Sean Bryson, Chief of Police
    • Ray Carson, Director of Human Resources
    • Robert Williams, Transportation Supervisor
    • Jason Zenmon, Aramark Supervisor

    Upper St. Clair High School

    • Corey DelMastro, Custodian (District Floater)
    • John Ferris, Maintenance
    • Miranda Gray, Family & Consumer Science Teacher
    • Rebecca Hritz, Physics Teacher (Long-Term Substitute)
    • Maureen Kearns, Nutrition Center Worker
    • Leslie Long, Math Teacher (Long-Term Substitute)
    • Gordon Mathews, School Counselor
    • Antoinette Moeslein, Math Teacher
    • Corinne Nunez, Chemistry Teacher
    • Martina Quinlan, Nutrition Center Worker
    • Chie Ramsey, Japanese Teacher
    • Gwendaline St. Cyr, Nutrition Center Worker
    • Kim Sullivan, High School, Food Service Manager

    Fort Couch Middle School

    • Joye Karidis, Math Resource Teacher
    • Maria Marchionna, Spanish Teacher

    Boyce Middle School

    • Tonia Autieri, School Counselor
    • Dianne Grace, Cafeteria Worker        
    • Lisa Lucas, Cafeteria Worker
    • Kelly Pascarella, Elementary Teacher

    Streams Elementary School

    • Steven Cosnek, Music Teacher
    • Mallory Fallert,Teacher Aide
    • Carolyn Fortson, Elementary Teacher
    • Amy Garces, Elementary Teacher
    • Katherine Hendrickson, Elementary Teacher
    • Erin Kyle, Elementary Teacher
    • Laura McLean, Elementary Teacher
    • Stephanie Rieger, Teacher Aide
    • Katharine Sweeney, Gifted Teacher (Long-Term Substitute)
    • Jami Vargo, School Nurse
    • Kayla Warmbein, Elementary Teacher (Long-Term Substitute)

    Eisenhower Elementary School

    • Courtney Campbell, Elementary Teacher
    • Jessica Kenny, Elementary Teacher
    • Teresa Peluso, Teacher Aide

    Baker Elementary School

    • Kelsey O’Leary, Elementary Teacher (Long-Term Substitute)
    • Jennifer Jacobs, Elementary Teacher
    • Nichole Trollman, Elementary Teacher

    Bus Drivers  

    • Michael Sterba           
    • Michelle Hauswirth     
    • Richard Mechenbier