• Feb. 20, 2018

    School Spelling Bee winners advance to regional competition

    Spelling Bee logo Five Upper St. Clair students will advance to the 68th Annual Western Pennsylvania Spelling Bee set for Saturday, March 10, 2018, at Robert Morris University.

    To qualify for the regional competition, Noshi Dabas, Zahra Hossain, Jhoran Laffin, Priyanka Palayekar and Emiliano Sobarzo each finished first in his/her school’s spelling bee. The school-level spelling bees, open to students in grades 4 – 8, were sponsored by the Upper St. Clair Parent Teacher Council.

    Students up through grade 8 from throughout a 26-county region will compete at Robert Morris University. The winner of the Western Pennsylvania Spelling Bee will receive an all-expense paid trip to compete at the Scripps National Spelling Bee in Washington, D.C. Bee Week 2018 will take place May 27-June 1, 2018.

    Upper St. Clair’s school-level results are provided below. 

    Baker Elementary School

    • First Place: Noshi Dabas with a winning word of “ricochet”
    • Second Place: Nikhil Chandran
    • Third Place: Zahra Khan
    • Fourth Place: Anvita Talasela
    • Fifth Place: Sara Gillespie

    Eisenhower Elementary School:

    • First Place: Emiliano Sobarzo with a winning word of “facilitate”
    • Second Place: Roha Pandya
    • Third Place: Lylah Kateeb
    • Fourth Place: Artie McCallum
    • Fifth Place: Danny Angelov

    Streams Elementary School:

    • First Place: Zahra Hossain with a winning word of “conspiracy”
    • Second Place: Seth Williams
    • Third Place: Isabella Donnelly
    • Fourth Place: Hudson Honeycott
    • Fifth Place: Kaia Petrick

    Boyce Middle School

    • First Place: Jhoran Laffin with a winning word of “nunnery”
    • Second Place: Eitan Schwartz
    • Third Place: Anushka Patil
    • Fourth Place: Kristen Albertini
    • Fifth Place: Shriya Narasimhan

    Fort Couch Middle School

    • First Place: Priyanka Palayekar with a winning word of “architectural”
    • Second Place: Keshav Narasimhan
    • Third Place: Daniel Wang
    • Fourth Place: Arunprakash Vasudevan
    • Fifth Place: Shana Reddy