• Sept. 13, 2017

    National Merit Semifinalists
    11 named National Merit Semifinalists

    National Merit logo Eleven Upper St. Clair High School seniors were recently named Semifinalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program. The following students scored in the top one percent of all juniors completing the PSAT in October 2016:

    • Kevin X. Chen
    • Steven D. Cheung
    • Ariana Chiu
    • Nadith A. Dharmasena
    • Sahil B. Doshi
    • Jagadeesh R. Gummadi
    • Michael R. Hrehocik
    • Caroline C. LeKachman
    • Spencer C. Miller
    • Daniel R. Speer
    • Abigail E. Wagner

    “This is such a great honor for these high-achieving students and a testament to their hard work,” Dr. Lou Angelo, Upper St. Clair High School principal, said. “The National Merit Scholarship Program is among our nation’s most prestigious academic honors for high school seniors.” 

    Founded in 1955, the National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships. Students enter the National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the PSAT – the National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test – during the fall of their junior year. Of the nearly 1.6 million entrants, the top one percent (approximately 16,000 students) qualify as Semifinalists.

    The Upper St. Clair Semifinalists have the opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,400 Merit Scholarships that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition.

    The National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced the Semifinalists on Sept. 13, 2017. National Merit Finalists will be named in February 2018, followed by the National Merit Scholars in the spring. The program awards three types of National Merit Scholarships - 2,500 National Merit Scholarships of $2,500; approximately 1,000 corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarships; and 4,000 college-sponsored Merit Scholarships.

    For more information regarding the National Merit Scholarship Program, visit: www.nationalmerit.org.

    Related article: