• Feb. 2, 2017
    School Spelling Bee winners announced

    Spelling Bee Logo Five Upper St. Clair students will advance to the 67th Annual Western Pennsylvania Spelling Bee set for March 11, 2017, at the Charles L. Sewall Center on Robert Morris University’s campus.

    To qualify for the regional competition, Ryan Popp, Olivia Hong, Rohan Mehta, Alexander Todd and Christian Chiu each finished first in his/her school’s spelling bee. The school-level spelling bees, open to students in grades 4 – 8, were sponsored by the Upper St. Clair Parent Teacher Council.

    Approximately 110 students from throughout the region will compete at Robert Morris University. The winner of the Western Pennsylvania Spelling Bee will receive an all-expense paid trip to compete at the Scripps National Spelling Bee in Washington, D.C., in May 2017.

    Upper St. Clair’s school-level results are provided below.

    Baker Elementary School
    • First Place: Ryan Popp with a winning word of “dandruff”
    • Second Place: Hannah Del
    • Third Place: Lily Pritts
    • Fourth Place: Avery Neal
    • Fifth Place: Sofia Jahn
    Eisenhower Elementary School:
    • First Place: Olivia Hong with a winning word of “conflagration”
    • Second Place: Noah Gidas
    • Third Place: Eitan Schwartz
    • Fourth Place: Jamie Barrett
    • Fifth Place: Shresht Rawat
    Streams Elementary School:
    • First Place: Rohan Mehta with a winning word of “allegiance”
    • Second Place: Shriya Narasimhan 
    • Third Place: Caleb Guarino
    • Fourth Place: Violet Rizer
    • Fifth Place: Carlee Santel
    Boyce Middle School
    • First Place: Alexander Todd with a winning word of “nutrient”
    • Second Place: Keshav Narasimhan
    • Third Place: Matvey Zoukovski
    • Fourth Place: Carter McClintock-Comeaux
    • Fifth Place: Jhoran Laffin
    Fort Couch Middle School
    • First Place: Christian Chiu with a winning word of “factorial”
    • Second Place: Shana Reddy
    • Third Place: Alex LeKachman
    • Fourth Place: Arunprakash Vasudevan
    • Fifth Place: Dev Patel